Criminal Investigations Division

The Criminal Investigations Division is commanded by Lieutenant Eloy Martinez and Sergeant Dario Gonzalez who directly supervise 5 (five) Detectives, a Support Services staff member and 2 (two) K-9 handlers . Investigating crime represents the most obvious responsibility of the Criminal Investigations unit. Personnel in this division are responsible for follow-up investigations of criminal cases. They work closely with victims, witnesses, citizens, and other law enforcement agencies to solve problems and crimes.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Criminal Investigations Division Members

Rank / Title Badge Number / Name Phone # Email Address
Lieutenant 108 Eloy Martinez (956) 361-3880 ext 404 emartinez@cityofsanbenito.com
Sergeant 114 Dario Gonzalez (956) 361-3880 ext 208 dgonzalez@cityofsanbenito.com
Detective  123 Martin Guzman (956) 361-3880 ext 202 mguzman@cityofsanbenito.com
Detective 130 Manuel Alvarez (956) 361-3880 ext 205 malvarez@cityofsanbenito.com
Detective  166 Jose Santos (956) 361-3880 ext 200 jsantos@cityofsanbenito.com
Detective  171 Jose Benavides (956) 361-3880 jbenavides@cityofsanbenito.com
Detective  169 Gabriel Gonzalez (956) 361-3880 ggonzalez@cityofsanbenito.com
Support Services  162 Oscar Lara (956) 361-3880 olara@cityofsanbenito.com
K-9 Handler w/ Officer Chuy      
K-9 Handler  w/ Officer Greg 173 Rendell Stansbury (956) 361-3880 rstansbury@cityofsanbenito.com

Responsibilities

Detectives generally specialize in areas such as major crimes, property crimes, personal crimes, juvenile and sex crimes, and white collar crimes (frauds, forgeries and counterfeiting). Depending on their assignment, investigators carry a continuous "case load". The Criminal Investigations Sergeant will assign cases depending on their significance and solvability factors. Solvability factors include those leads which help investigators solve the case. Examples include names or descriptions of suspects, serial numbers or identifying marks on stolen property, or witnesses to the crime.